Holidays · Hospitality · Recipe

Pre-Thanksgiving Preparations {November 25th 2015}

FullSizeRender (6)

Hosting such a large scale dinner with 8 different dishes all from scratch can be a bit daunting. I am sure God made half the food on earth cook the way it does for us poor ladies who need a break. Pay close attention to recipes because some taste better the next day or even like my cranberry sauce need to cool in the fridge for AT LEAST seven hours. It seems as though I am an agitated cook and baker. If I have to juggle too many things you need to stay out of my way because I wield my spatula as if it were Thor’s Hammer. So to remedy yelling at my poor Husband for attempting to help- I have decided to host a 99% Vegan Thanksgiving; most of which I am starting the day before. Majority of my family are carnivores so my Husband opted for some chicken breast. {For the sake of my beliefs I will never eat turkey or prepare turkey for Thanksgiving} Otherwise I would totally alienate everyone but myself. I dare not explain my reasons for living with a meat eater for they are my choices alone and he is 90% vegetarian anyways. I am winning the war slowly.

My menu is as listed below for our early supper on Thanksgiving:

Rosemary Olive Oil and Garlic Chicken.

Apple Walnut Stuffed Acorn Squash

Sweet Potato Pie With Vegan Marshmallows

Green Bean and Leek Casserole

Mashed Red Skin Potatoes with Rosemary and Basil

Cornbread Baked Stuffing

Corn with Brown Sugar

Home Made White Bread

No-Can Cranberry Sauce

Mini Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake

Pumpkin Basil Bars {Courtesy of Dear Anna from A Sweet Delicate Thing}

It’s quite a lot of food to prepare. I have already done my Sauce and Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake and Bars. Below I am going to include the recipes and some photos, although the link for Anna’s blog is going to take you directly to her recipe. All of my recipes come from the book Betty Goes Vegan to which I included the link to buy it. I really suggest doing so if you love food and better yet CRUELTY FREE food!

No-Can Cranberry Sauce

Yield 6-8 Servings

What You Need:

1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

1  Cup or 3/4 Cup Orange Juice With Pulp

Pinch of Ground Cloves

1 Tsp Lemon Juice

2 Cups Fresh Cranberries

2 Tsp Grated Orange Peel

Heat the Orange Juice, Cloves and Brown Sugar in your favorite sauce pan. Just before it boils, toss in your Cranberries. They will begin to pop and split. Keep stirring while it turns to a boil. Be aware the hot juice from the popping cranberries does burn. I usually keep a pot lid half over the sauce. Boil for five minutes while stirring. For thicker more gelatin like sauce. Add 1 TSP Corn Starch mixed in 1 TBSP cold water into the sauce while boiling. Once all cranberries have split stir in orange peel then, remove from heat. Let cool, cover and chill for at least 7 Hours. Overnight if you’re an overachiever like myself.

This is probably my best and favorite cranberry sauce recipe. You have to take the spoon away from me after I cook it.

Mini Pumpkin Spice Cheesecakes With Spiced Cream Cheese Icing.

Yield 4 Mini Cakes

What You Need

CRUST:

Vegetable Shortening to grease a mini pie pan or spring form pan.

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/2 Cup Margarine

1/4 Cup White Granulated Sugar

1 TBSP Applesauce

FILLING:

3 8 Oz Packages of Vegan Cream Cheese {Tofutti works best in my opinion.}

1 1/4 Cups White Granulated Sugar

3 TBSP Whole Wheat Flour

1 TBSP Grated Orange Peel

1 1/2 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger

Pinch of Black Pepper

Pinch of Pink Himalayan Salt

3 TBSP Applesauce

2 TBSP Egg Replacer {Ener-G works best but do not prepare it.}

3/4 Can of Pumpkin Puree

Spiced Icing:

1/2 8 Oz Package of Vegan Cream Cheese

1/8 Cup Margarine

1/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp Brown Sugar

2 Teaspoons Vanilla Almond Milk

1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

 

Preheat Oven to 400 Degrees F And grease your pans with shortening.

Start by mixing all the dry ingredients for your crust together then add the apple sauce and margarine. It should be a mold-able consistency . Gather it into a ball then divide into fourths. Press into your pans trying to be as even as possible. Bake then for 3-5 minutes until golden on a cookie sheet so you do not bump the edges of the crust from your pans. Then remove from your oven.

Preheat your oven to 475 F

While cooling your crusts, Prepare your filling by softening the cream cheese in your microwave. Then add all your filling ingredients together and blend or whisk until smooth. Use a ladle to fill your crusts a little over 3/4 full. Do not fill to the top or your cakes will expand over.

Bake for 15 minutes then reduce heat to 200 F and bake an extra 30 minutes. Do not remove them from your oven. Turn off the heat and let sit inside your oven for an extra 20-30 minutes.

For your icing, mix all ingredients together but leave your powdered sugar for last. Add powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time to avoid blowback and looking like a hazardous baker. This icing is the most delectable spice icing I have come to meet. It’s very soft so I use an icing bag to apply to my cakes.

Chill your cakes uncovered overnight or at least 7 hours. Serve as you see fit.

 

I am not a cheesecake fan, But these have won my heart. And they’re mini so you never feel obligated to share. It’s like one whole cake all to yourself.

I hope you enjoy these two little simple recipes that I am sharing with my family tomorrow. I pray that you all have a stress free Thanksgiving, Safe travels and Family Memories.

 

{My Week So Far}

 

I ended up feeling a bit under the weather on Monday and Tuesday. Spending most of my time resting, I have quite a lot to clean before tomorrow. I rode for the first time in a week. The weather has been to wet to do much of anything outdoors. But I am blessed for Ohio is back in the mid to upper 50’s. As you can tell, I got bored and took a creepy photo of my smeared makeup after coloring my hair. It’s rather grunge of me.

 

Do take care and let me know how your Holiday went! I would love to hear from you!

XOXO Sweet Baby Cadillac

 

 

Leave a Reply

