Animals

The Scare

IMG_7500

Now that I have dinner in the pot, laundry folded and my bathroom cleaned; I have a moment to sit down and rest. I am in my pajamas early, but I have good reason. I am exhausted. Why do you ask? It’s not my regular exhaustion, it’s mental stress from dealing with my horse.

Choke. It’s a word we all know, and some of us have even experienced. For a horse, choke is different. For most humans, when they truly choke, they lose the ability to breathe. Horses can still do this. They simply cannot swallow. Choke is a terrible term for a horse with an object lodged in the esophagus, but it’s the medical term and thus will have to do.

This weekend the family is leaving to visit relatives in Cincinnati Ohio. We are also looking at a house in the area while we are down there. Being away from the farm means we need to hire someone to care for our animals. As we were showing the farm sitters around, introducing the horses, we showed them how to do PM feeding. For some reason, Roxy wolfed down her food, and got a substantial wad of grain stuck in her throat. Thus started my half hour scare with Choke.

I have dealt with choke before, multiple times. But never with Rox. I was nervous, but knew she could possibly come out of it on her own. Despite the heaving, the immense amount of snot and saliva pouring from her nose, I kept calm, petted her and waited. Ten minutes went by, and I decided to call the vet.

On a side note, the poor farm sitters had to witness the horrible ordeal. But they seemed to understand things happen at the most odd times. I have great anxiety about traveling away from my babies, and I feel the enemy makes bad things happen to try and draw me away from enjoying my trips. It seems to happen every time, specifically with my horse.

Twenty minutes passed, four vet calls and all I could leave were messages. Still displaying signs of choke, I closed my eyes and began to pray.

God, Remove this binding in her throat. Free it, Jesus. I don’t want her to hurt, to be scared. I don’t want her to die.

After my fervent pleading, she began to cough. Roughly. After a few coughs, some more heaving, I became distracted as calls started rolling in from the emergency vets. I was scared she would have to be tubed. As I spoke with the vet, Roxy seemed to visibly regain clarity, strength and wit. She stopped salivating, and looked at me as though she knew she was going to be okay. As the vet asked me how long she had been choking, I replied that I felt she may have passed it.

It’s not abnormal for a horse to pass an obstruction. But I know, with the peace and comfort I felt, God answered my prayer. Thank You Jesus!

IMG_7494

Today, I wet down her hay, we decided to with hold grain, and she seems in much better spirits. Some precautions will have to be taken so it doesn’t happen over the weekend. But God answers prayers and he will be my first consult before the vet. Of course, I can pray, then call right after to fulfill my own human desires of having someone there immediately.

I’m so happy the scare is over and we can get back to normal routine. I just hope we have a good, stress free weekend. Thank you again to everyone who was concerned, helped and stood by us through the ordeal. You are a blessing.

XOXO Sweet Baby Cadillac

 

 

Leave a Reply

