Housewife · Vintage

The Importance Of Writing and Penmanship

girl

With most traditionalists and vintage lifestyle enthusiasts, there usually follows a desire to stay in touch with old world charms and skills. In modern society, we have replaced a lot of basic ways of doing things with a more modern and quick substitute. When was the last time you got a hand written bill of sale? Or when was the last time you received a hand written card in the mail, delivered by the postman? For most of the millennial generation, a text; and if you’re lucky, a call will suffice.

As I try to do my best to stay true to the way things operated in the 1940’s, I do my best to continue the heritage of writing hand written mail to correspond with people far away. In turn, when I receive something written by hand, it means so much to me. I keep all my cards and letters in a special drawer. When I first made the decision to live as close to the past as possible, my exceptions being a cell phone and internet, I decided that I wanted to work on a key part of education in the 1940’s. Have you ever felt that your Grandmother’s handwriting was always better than yours? It is due to one simple fact, most children learned proper penmanship in school, and teachers were forced to ensure it was to standard.

I began to teach myself the proper way of writing in cursive, something that was not taught to me in modern education.

It is far from perfect, but my handwriting is more unique and signature than many people today who only know how to write chicken scratch print.

I continue to do my best to write everything down instead of relying on technology. But at times, the convenience over weighs my desire.

How do you feel about the importance of strong legible penmanship? Do you write letters? I would love to discuss with you about your own ideals.

 

XOXO Sweet Baby Cadillac

Leave a Reply

