Christianity

Daughters of the King Tea {May 1st 2016}

IMG_9998

Most of my regular readers have been expecting this post with baited breath. Finally, the time has come for my update on the Daughters of the King High Tea my church hosted. I am compiling this post on May 2nd, but the tea itself was hosted on May 1st.

I was very excited for this event. I felt like I was going to be able to make some grand connections in the sisters of my church. All in all, it went well. I did enjoy myself but I can assure you that in some areas, my expectations were not met. Everyone was pleasant, but there was a large lack of ladies in my age range hosting tables. They were all significantly older than I. It was obvious of the disconnect. I spent most of my set up and tear down time alone, while the other ladies chatted and helped one another. A few ladies were kind enough to offer help but I politely declined. Not entirely sure as to why, I think I just felt a little alone. Frankly, I enjoy my own company so it wasn’t too terrible. I suppose I was just hoping for more women my age.

IMG_9997

I decided to wear my 1970’s evening gown, which actually was extremely overkill given what everyone else wore. Aside from myself I think that our Pastor’s wife was one of the only women in a dress that was designer or at least appeared so. Modern clothing just doesn’t have that ritzy feel that I myself felt necessary for a High Tea. Call me jaded.

Also, excuse my messy dressing room.

 

I set my table in about an hour and a half. I had compliments on the Baby’s Breath wreath and the roses I placed for each of my guests. There were specific instructions on how to set the tables to which I had to abide by. I featured Chai Rooibos and Jasmine Green for my teas. Most everyone enjoyed them.

Being that my friends were unable to make it, I ended up inviting my grandmothers. Which made the table  delightful, but I did miss having my friends there.

We had live music from a violinist and cellist. Two different speakers, and a four course meal. All in all, the planning of the event was seamless. By the end of the night, I packed up my things and headed for home.

Here is my favorite table, and a picture with Eunice!

 

Have you ever attended a Tea Party? Did it meet your expectations? I would love to hear about it. Thank you for reading and God Bless.

XOXO Sweet Baby Cadillac

4 thoughts on “Daughters of the King Tea {May 1st 2016}

  1. Your table was set beautifully!! I’m sorry the day didn’t meet all your expectations. That stinks when that happens. It was nice that your grandmas were able to come and spend that time with you.

    Like

  2. That’s a shame that your friends weren’t able to make it! Like Elizabeth commented, the way you set your table looked beautiful. And it sounded like a lovely day, even if it wasn’t perfect.

    I’ve never attended a tea party, but I’d certainly like to. No one seems to do that sort of thing around here, unfortunately.

    (also Eunice looks fabulous!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

